Faculty and GTAs

The directory below lists all faculty and graduate teaching assistants actively teaching (or preparing to teach) in Virginia Tech’s University Writing Program. If you are an undergraduate student and have questions or if you encounter challenges contacting a faculty member or GTA, please contact writing -AT- vt.edu. For faculty and GTAs, to request an update to your listing in the directory, send a request via email to writing -AT- vt.edu.

NameEmailRoleDegree or programOffice LocationFA22 Office Hours
Aitken, Ruthruth8ken@vt.eduGTAMFA(2)Shanks 438R, 11-1
Allnutt, Robinrallnut@vt.eduSenior InstructorMFA, George Mason, 1997Shanks 237TR, 11-5; MW, 1:30-2:30
Armstrong, Juliejuliadarmstrong@vt.eduGTAMFA(3)Shanks 238W, 1-3
Austin, Nicoleaustinn27@vt.eduInstructorMA, Findlay, 2021Shanks 444R, 3-5
Awotayo, Yemiolayemi@vt.eduGTAPHD(4)Shanks 248MW, 2-3
Bailey, Carsoncarsongale@vt.eduGTAMA(2)Shanks 203W, 10:30-11:30 Starbucks; F, 11-12, Zoom
Baker, Nettanettab@vt.eduAdvanced InstructorMA, Kansas State, 2013Shanks 329ATBD
Baker, Shaunshibadou@vt.eduAdvanced InstructorMA, Kansas State, 2013Shanks 353M, 6-8, Twitch
Becker, Timtimbecker@vt.eduInstructorMA, NC State, 2019Shanks 222W, 5-7
Bennington, Spencerbennington@vt.eduInstructorPhD, South Florida, 2020Shanks 414MWF, 2:15-3:15
Bloomer, Lissaebloomer@vt.eduSenior InstructorMA, Virginia TechShanks 229MW, 11:30-12:30
Brown, Nicknbrown1@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Texas Christian, 2021Shanks 452MWF, 11-1:!5
Buzzek, Minaminavictoria@vt.eduGTAMFA(3)Shanks 238T, 2-4
Canter, Bobbcanter@vt.eduSenior InstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2013Shanks 219T, 12-5
Cohen, Jessiejcohen89@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Florida State, 2020Shanks 433MW, 11:15-12:15, Zoom
Colombo, Amyajcolombo@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Virginia Commonwealth, 2015Shanks 410TR, 11:30-12:30
Conaway, Seanseconawa@vt.eduAdvanced InstructorMFA, Virginia TechN/ATR, 12:30-1:45
Corradi, Ariaricorradi@vt.eduInstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2022Shanks 445TR, 10-11
Correll, Colleencolle78@vt.eduInstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2017Shanks 451F, 1-3, Zoom
Corwin, Lilylcorwin@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Catholic U, 2009Shanks 410TR, 12:30-1:30
Coyne, Kennedyklcoyne@vt.eduGTAMFA(3)Shanks 250MW, 9-10
Cozort, Sarahslcozort@vt.eduGTAPhD(2)Shanks 242M, 1-3
Craig, Clintoncjcraig@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Louisiana-Lafayette, 2021Shanks 337MW, 1-2
Craig, Sherrisecraig@vt.eduAssistant ProfessorPhD, Purdue, 2018Shanks 308TR, 12:30-2
Davenny, Ivanivand@vt.eduGTAMFA(3)Shanks 250M, 1-3
Doan, Baileybaileyd21@vt.eduGTAMA(2)Shanks 203MW, 10:30-11:30
Dragon, Nathanndragon@vt.eduGTAMFA(3)Shanks 424MF, 1-2, Zoom
Drapeau, Jaclyn djaclyn5@vt.eduInstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2018Shanks 222T, 2-4, Zoom
Fehr, Lauralauraf2@vt.eduInstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2015Shanks 414W, 1:30-2:30; R, 11-2, Zoom
Fischer, Marymaryfischer@vt.eduGTAMFA(2)Shanks 440M, 1:30-3:30
Flores, Bessiebessieflores@vt.eduInstructorMFA, Virginia Tech, 2022Shanks 445MW, 1-2; T, 2-3
Fuoco, Dantedante@vt.eduGTAMFA(2)Shanks 440T, 1-3
Gershberg, Xandergershberg@vt.eduGTAMFA(2)Shanks 442TR, 11-12
Gilbert, Serenasdgilbert@vt.eduSenior InstructorShanks 249TR, 8:30-9:15
Gonsalves, Florencefgonsalves@vt.eduGTAMFA(3)Shanks 446WF, 12:30-1:30
Greene, Justinjrgreene@vt.eduInstructorPhD, VCU, 2018Shanks 239M, 10-12; W, 2-4
Hall, Katherinekahall2@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Virginia Tech, 2001Shanks 444MWF, 12-1
Hemmer, Emilyehemmer@vt.eduInstructorMA, New Hampshire, 2021Shanks 215M, 3-4; R, 10-11
Hobin, Andrewahobin@vt.eduInstructorMFA, Virginia Tech, 2013Shanks 351W, 1-3
Hooper, Roberthoop@vt.eduInstructorMFA, Virginia Tech, 2014Shanks 340DR, 12-2
Johnson, Ingridingridb@vt.eduAdvanced InstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2014Shanks 449M, 9-11
Jones, Andréandjones@vt.eduInstructorMA, Kean U, 2016Shanks 247W, 10-12, Zoom
Jorge, Kathleenkathleenjorge@vt.eduGTAMA(2)Shanks 238M, 10:15-11:15; W, 10-11
Jorgensen, Alyssaacjorgensen00@vt.eduGTAMA(2)Shanks 238MW, 3:30-4:30
Karagulle, Seydaskaragulle@vt.eduGTAMA(2)Shanks 250MW, 10:30-11:30
Lawrence, Jennyjlwrnc@vt.eduSenior InstructorMA, Radford, 1994Newman 2005MWF, 10:15-11
Lohani, Sureshsuresh@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Texas–El Paso, 2022Shanks 215M, 12:15-1:15
Macias, Andyamacias23@vt.eduGTAMFA(2)Shanks 442MW, 10:30-11:30
Marzolf, Amandaakm1231@vt.eduInstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2016Shanks 221T, 10-1, Shanks; R, 2-5, Zoom
Maycock, Shellymmayco@vt.eduAdvanced InstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 1985Shanks 225 T, 12:45-1:45; W, 5:30-6;30
Mengert, Juliejmengert@vt.eduSenior InstructorPhD, Virginia Tech, 2022Shanks 217TR, 11-12, Zoom
Morse, Kirakgmorse@vt.eduAdvanced InstructorEdD, Texas A&M, 2012Shanks 247TR, 2-3, Zoom
Mueller, Derekdmueller@vt.eduProfessorPhD, Syracuse, 2009Shanks 315T, 1-3:30
Murphy, Kaylamkayla96@vt.eduGTAMFA(2)Shanks 448MW, 10-11
Neilan, Leslielneilan@vt.eduSenior InstructorMA, Virginia TechShanks 212TR, 2:30-4
Oakey, Stevesoakey@vt.eduSenior InstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2004Shanks 211MW, 10-11, Zoom
Passwater, Tthomaspasswater@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Syracuse, 2021Shanks 304MW, 3-4
Patton, Randyrandy.patton@vt.eduSenior InstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 1992Shanks 251MW, 9-12; TR, 11-12:15
Rabbi, Shakilsrabbi@vt.eduAssistant ProfessorPhD, Penn State, 2017Shanks 447T, 10-11; W, 1-2, Zoom
Reres, Shannonsrpratson@vt.eduGTAMFA(2)Shanks 448TR, 1-3
Richards, Theotheorichards@vt.eduGTAMFA(3) Shanks 446M, 11:30-1:30
Ruccolo, Vanessavruccolo@vt.eduSenior InstructorMA, Virginia TechShanks 439TR, 11-12
Ryan, Mollymollison@vt.eduGTAMA(2)Shanks 424M, 10:30-12:30, Zoom
Saeidfar, Ghazalghazal22saeidfar@vt.eduInstructorPhD, Texas–DallasShanks 452TR, 5-6
Saunders, Tylertsaund1@vt.eduInstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2019Shanks 349M, 2:30-4:30
Shafer, Luanalshafer3@vt.eduGTAPHD(4)Shanks 248W, 12:30-2:30
Snyder, Trevortsnyder19@vt.eduInstructorMA, EMU, 2015Shanks 410MW, 10-11, Zoom
Stout, Kristikesl@vt.eduGTAMFA(2)Shanks 450R, 9-11
Sullivan, Shannonshannonk101@vt.eduGTAMFA(3)Shanks 442MF, 1-3, Zoom
Taylor, Christinacetay39@vt.eduInstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2019Shanks 433W, 10-12
Vaughan, Christophercpvaughan@vt.edu.GTAMA(2)Shanks 424W, 10:30-11:30, Starbucks; F, 11-12
Wallace, Laurenlnwallac@vt.eduGTAPHD(6)Shanks 446M, 3-5, Zoom
Weaver, Meganmmweaver@vt.eduCollegiate Assistant ProfessorPhD, Old Dominion, 2020Shanks 323ATR, 2-3
Webster, Travistwebster2@vt.eduAssistant ProfessorPhD, Michigan State, 2012Shanks 408Research leave
Young, Collencollenyoung@vt.edu GTAMA(2)Shanks 438M, 1-2, Zoom; W, 10:30-12, 320 Turner St
Zaldivar, Marcmzaldiva@vt.eduInstructor (PTI)PhD, Virginia Tech, 2008Torgersen 2230AM, 9-10
Zan, Jennajenzan@vt.eduInstructorMA, Virginia Tech, 2017Shanks 306M, 3:30-4:30; F, 12-1